How to Deactivate and Delete a Plugin in WordPress?

If your plugin is not in use or you wish to deactivate it, you can do this from the WordPress admin dashboard. You can also delete deactivated plugins.


1. Login to your WordPress admin dashboard.

2. Under the dashboard menu, hover your mouse over "Plugins" and then click on "Installed Plugins".



3. If you want to deactivate the Hello Dolly plugin, for example, click on Deactivate, which appears at bottom of the Hello Dolly text.



How to Delete a Plugin in WordPress?
Once a plugin is deactivated, the delete option will appear.

Go to the Installed Plugins list and click on the Delete link which shows at the bottom of the deactivated plugins name. It will display a confirmation. Press OK and the plugin will be removed.

  • 0 Users Found This Useful
Was this answer helpful?

Related Articles

What Should I Do If I Receive a ‘Resource Limits Reached’ Error?

Why are there limits in place?Resource limits on shared servers are set and enforced with...

Optimizing WordPress Sites

For a more general information on shared hosting resource limits, please refer to the following...

WordPress Resources

Getting StartedWordPress Codex - New To WordPress - Where to StartWordPress Codex - First Steps...

Wordpress Brute Force Attempts / Restrict wp-admin by IP Address

Default installations of wordpress do not include any brute force protection so it is strongly...

How to remove multiple posts with a single click in WordPress?

It is possible to remove multiple post in your WordPress dashboard. You can also remove selected...